Letter to Dear Sister Eliza, Dec. 15

Dearest Sister Eliza,

I hope this note finds you healthy and well on to your Holiday preparations. We have been very busy here at Herald House applying the greens to the mantles and banisters. My chamber is beautifully but sparingly decorated. Just enough to lighten the spirit. A braided garland of white pine boughs laced with the Pyracantha berries and white velvet bows provides a joyous sight when one enters the room. It is my intention to sketch some of the sights here at the Herald House and Grounds before returning to Number One Maple Lane. I mentioned my passion for drawing to Dear Mr. Waldon and he included a divine blue leather-bound sketch book with my stationary order as a Christmas Gift. I was so overcome with his kindness, I will write a thank you note shortly.

One of my favorite places in my rooms is the Louis XV writing desk that is angled into a deep window well facing south. From this vantage point I am privileged to see the full length of the drive through the park and all approaching guests. It is a grand sight fitting for such a grand house. I am writing to you on my new stationary prepared by the talented Mr. Waldon of the Village Wren. It is a fine papyrus with the monogram perfectly centered in my favorite color of Platinum Gray. Have you noticed the fine raised script? I extremely pleased.

Our Dear Cousin Rosemary is becoming more alert by the day. She is attending meals and her appetite has greatly improved. She has returned to spending periods of time in the schoolroom with Kenny and Ross in the early morning and again in the afternoon. It seems that Dominique, the governess, was a bit perplexed by this new attention, however, she has grudgingly accepted the new routine. She also has reluctantly accepted our nightly intrusions after tea as well to read to the boys before their bedtime. As a result, both of the lads seem much fulfilled and happy. It is a blessing indeed.

I will close now to dress for dinner. My new dresses are so lovely. The village seamstress has done a fine stitching on the dark green velvet dress. The bodice is trimmed with cross-hatch stitching in golden threads, each cross mark is dotted with a lovely pearl bead. She has applied a new hem treatment, very popular in Paris right now. It is randomly tucked to pull the hem up in soft gathers. I am very pleased.

My Best Wishes to all my loved ones,

Your Loving Sister, Lucy

About Lucky Lucy

A humble and sensitive artist, I live a simple life. I am driven to find truth and honesty in a modern world which frequently leaves me at odds with nature. In my professional life the minds of the troubled and misdirected require my attention. While I will never be wealthy, a good days work involves the soothing of souls. Sometimes even my own.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

