Dec. 15, Journal Entry

Oh Dear Journal, I am so relieved. I donned my lovely new Tweed Walking Suit and traveled the front lane down to the cottage of Mrs. Waters and her son Peter. I was so pleased to see her up and about preparing a rabbit stew for their supper. While she stated that she was a bit chilled yesterday after collecting her eggs, some hot chicken soup and a warm fire settled the chill. She confirms that Peter worries frequently of her health. He is of a delicate nature and finds himself with many anxieties. He enjoys working with Mr. Hawkins now. He prefers to take directions from one person rather than to attempt scheduling his own activities. She also mentioned that Michael Willoby was returning to Meadow Grove for the Christmas holidays. Peter is not particularly fond of Mr. Michael, this concerns her. She is concerned that he will visit and set Peter on to more fearful behavior.

I was able to gather some lovely Pyracantha berries along the way. I will use them to drape the mantle in my chamber. Do not fear, the berries are on the very high mantle unreachable by little hands.

I have neglected to share appointments there. How shall I begin? On the second floor, in the west chamber above the large library, I believe, this room is selected for the most important guests. It is the third door, on the right as you travel the connecting hall. It is decorated entirely in a fine French Blue satin. The walls are dressed with a subtle brocade silk. While the furniture is the finest mahogany the contrast with the pale blue trappings and bedding is stunning. On the bed is a tufted velvet duvet and light and fluffy goose down pillows. The linens are fine threaded pale blue to match with the Willoby monogram on the hemming. I feel like a princess here. But sometimes the princess is lonely and longing to live her own life. As I glance out large windows that face the boxwood garden facing west, I am reminded of the great wealth of this family and how vulnerable Dear Cousin Rosemary might be.

About Lucky Lucy

A humble and sensitive artist, I live a simple life. I am driven to find truth and honesty in a modern world which frequently leaves me at odds with nature. In my professional life the minds of the troubled and misdirected require my attention. While I will never be wealthy, a good days work involves the soothing of souls. Sometimes even my own.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

