Journal Entry: Dec. 13, 10 pm

Oh Dear Journal, I fear that something is amiss here in Herald House! Of course, dear Sister Eliza will attribute this feeling to my active imagination. As I dressed for dinner, in my lovely dark green silk with eggshell lace inserts and mother of pearl buttons down the back, I was hopeful that some of my anxieties would be put to rest. Quite the opposite! As we entered the dining room Cousin Rosemary was arm in arm with Mrs. Willoby talking about how relieved she is that Mr. Hawkins will be present on the estate to manage. I entered on the arm of Mr. Blanding, the professor. He is an elegantly dressed gentleman, particularly so for an academic.    He has revealed that as a professor of music, he is frequently asked to dine with noble families. He relates that he is rather treated like the entertainment, but since it suits his purpose he is accommodating. He also added that he met the Governess, Dominique, in her prior employment as a result of an evening in the town house of Olivia St. John. I am not aware of her family or circumstance but I suspect she is a fine lady by the anecdotes portrayed by Mr. Blanding.   During dinner much of the conversation evolved around the type of decoration we would employ for the Holidays. While we will scale down the decor, we all agreed that we must continue our Christmas celebration for the boys. Roland would not want his sons to abandon their Christmas Dreams. Mr. Willoby stated that he has hired Peter and some of his friends to gather boughs for garlands and wreaths and instructed them to go into the pine forest to choose a lovely tree. These preparations will start in a few days and we will all help since the house staff is rather small. Mr. Willoby also remarked that Mr. Hawkins has prepared a lengthy agenda for his first days here at Herald House and will embark on projects straight away. He will hire on some workers from the village for some maintenance and the house should be well to rights by the time he and Mrs. Willoby leave for Meadow Grove on the 23rd. It will be lovely I am sure and my melancholy for being away from town, Maple Lane and my beloved Sister and Brother will be relieved. I am happy for Cousin Rosemary in the sense that she feels taken care of at this difficult time, however, I feel she is vulnerable. With the estate now entailed to Kenneth, she is at the mercy of the managers and well meaning family. I will continue my vigilance.   I have spent my idle time knitting the last of my gifts for Cousin Rosemary, Kenny and Ross. I need to finish the left sleeve on the jumper for Ross, and Rosemary’s lace shawl is complete except for the fringe. My time will be well spent in the next week, of this i am sure.

As I fall to sleep this night I will be thinking about our trip to the village Wren in the morning. I am so excited to see all the finery there.

 

 

About Lucky Lucy

A humble and sensitive artist, I live a simple life. I am driven to find truth and honesty in a modern world which frequently leaves me at odds with nature. In my professional life the minds of the troubled and misdirected require my attention. While I will never be wealthy, a good days work involves the soothing of souls. Sometimes even my own.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

