DEc. 13. Letter to Sister Eliza Sawyer

My Dearest Eliza. Our days at Herald House are full. I visited with Mrs. Waters and her dear son Peter.  They live in a modest cottage on the southern end of the grounds. Knowing I was en route, Mrs. Waters prepared a lovely tea and biscuit repast. She told me how Peter has struggled with the events of last Spring. He does blame himself for the torn cinch on the saddle. He could not possibly have predicted the deer running in the path of the stallion. He feels that if he had discovered Cousin Roland sooner he may have saved his life. Who is to know?

Mr. Willoby has hired an estate manager, a Mr. Hawkins. I remember a family surname Hawkins once employed by Mr. Williams senior. Would it be possible to inquire? Perhaps Phillip could investigate. Mr. Hawkins seems quite familiar, but not in a good way.

Have you heard from our Cousins in West Deerfield? Are they coming up for the Holidays to visit Aunt and Uncle Ridley? Will they stay on after the New Year? I long to spend time with them.. As busy merchants I suspect that it is difficult to leave the valley for any period of time. I wonder if they are acquainted with Mr. Hawkins? I understand he has spent time managing estates in that part of the country.

Fondly, your loving Sister, Lucy

About Lucky Lucy

A humble and sensitive artist, I live a simple life. I am driven to find truth and honesty in a modern world which frequently leaves me at odds with nature. In my professional life the minds of the troubled and misdirected require my attention. While I will never be wealthy, a good days work involves the soothing of souls. Sometimes even my own.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

