Dec. 13, Letter to Miss Isobel Williams

Dearest Isobel, I wanted to write this evening to let you know that all is well here in Wren Village. Dear Cousin Rosemary and I traveled to the village to gather my new garments. The Tweed Walking Suit is stunning. The single breasted jacket is finely fitted to my slim stature and is lined in a warm flannel. The walking skirt has a deep pleat front and back for ease in ambulation and surprise…deep pockets! This is the first skirt I have had with such fine tailoring. The collar is the Chesterfield style on the jacket with the lovely chocolate velvet there and on the trims and buttons.They are very fine. The dresses are divine.  I will share their descriptions in another post.

We purchased some fine Petit Fours at the local bakery for our tea. I have also commissioned the stationer, a Mr. Walden, to prepare brass plates for my private stationary while I am here. I am so pleased that he keeps those plates for all future purchases. I am having some lovely Christmas imprints personalized as well. Be sure to check your post in the next week.

I will miss our Holiday friendship this year, but when I return to Maple Lane we will have much more time to spend together. I have been invited to Meadow Grove by the charming Mr. and Mrs. Willoby after the winter chill. Their Spring gardens are famous in the country. They have intimated that I am more than welcome to bring an acquaintance.  We can request your company if Mr. Williams senior approves.

I will close now, I must dress for dinner. I heard that cook has prepared some quail  garnered by Mr. Hawkins early this morning. I will don my favorite black velveteen chemise. I fortunately remembered to bring my long gloves and wrap. No matter how well the fires are laid, there is a terrible draft in the halls of this large old house.

Until next time, your dearest friend , Miss Lucy Augustine.

About Lucky Lucy

A humble and sensitive artist, I live a simple life. I am driven to find truth and honesty in a modern world which frequently leaves me at odds with nature. In my professional life the minds of the troubled and misdirected require my attention. While I will never be wealthy, a good days work involves the soothing of souls. Sometimes even my own.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

