Journal Entry: Dec. 11, part #2

Dinner was a rather stunning affair. On a Tuesday! In attendance was Cousin Rosemary, of course, myself, and Mr & Mrs. Willoby. They were welcoming to me, a distant relative. They drove up from their estate just to meet me and spend the week. I am quite sure that their attendance has more to do with the management of the estate that a mere visit. Cousin Rosemary seems relieved that they have come. Unfortunately, they plan to leave before Christmas Eve to spend time with their family and friends at Meadow Grove. Also in attendance were the honorable Mr. and Mrs. Reed, the local constable and his wife, somewhat of a gossip it seems. A charming Mr. Alex Blanding, a professor at University, up to the country for the Holidays with his cousins the friendly Millicent and Harold Blanding. They reside on a nearby estate, Phinney Vale. Odd name, I will need to research the history of that! In spite of the chill, the dining room fires well lit well ahead of dinner and the room was quite comfortable. I wore my Black satin gown, the one with the mother of pearl buttons down the front. Simple but elegant I felt quite in place. Off to sleep I go, until tomorrow.

Oddly, I might add, the governess, Dominique would not let me visit with the boys after their tea. She said it would excite them too much and they would have difficulty with sleep. I wanted to read a bit of Treasure Island to them. They so love adventure! Perhaps Dominique is correct, too much excitement before sleep. Tomorrow then.  

About Lucky Lucy

A humble and sensitive artist, I live a simple life. I am driven to find truth and honesty in a modern world which frequently leaves me at odds with nature. In my professional life the minds of the troubled and misdirected require my attention. While I will never be wealthy, a good days work involves the soothing of souls. Sometimes even my own.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

